Little Miracles

"Rejoice always, pray continually, give thanks in all circumstances; for this is God's will for you in Christ Jesus." 1 Thessalonians 5:16-18

The balancing act

on September 7, 2013

So I’ve been quite the slacker with posting for the past two weeks as we’ve settled into our routines that include work and school.  It’s my goal to get much better about posting in the midst of the busyness that is everyday life.  To update on all that has been going on, I LOVE my job!  I get to work with books all day and I get to engage my brain to the point where I’m tired when I go home.  But that makes me happy!  I’m glad that I have a job that requires engagement.  The people I work with are very nice and my work environment is quite.  I really like my job and I am so thankful that God saw fit to provide me with this one!  Ben’s classes are going well and he is enjoying them greatly as well as learning a lot.  We both like the atmosphere of being here in seminary and everyone that lives in our apartment complex is connected to the seminary.  We are making good friends already and I’m so excited to see what God has for us as we continue to live here in Texas!  

The challenge in life right now is trying to balance everything.  Those of you who have been married longer than I have and/or have children have already had to figure this challenge out.  It’s hard to fit in working a 40 hour week, exercising 3 to 4 times a week, making dinner, ironing clothes, and packing lunches even just for the two of us!  I made a cleaning schedule though that highlights the big cleaning jobs such as cleaning the bathroom and assigned each weekend to a task.  I’m hoping that will help us in our goal to live a busy life but also not live in a pig sty!  I’m also having to learn to let Ben actually help more with the cleaning and cooking.  Before moving to Texas, the only time I had a full time job was when I subbed a maternity leave for 3.5 months.  Outside of that I was able to get cleaning, ironing, and cooking done easier because I wasn’t working full time.  I also did not make exercise a priority over the past year and I’m trying desperately to change that while I have free gym access through the seminary to get in the habit of it.  So needless to say, I can’t possibly do it all without some help.  Ben has been great about helping me make dinner, clean and he has been packing our lunches almost every night while I iron our clothes for the next day.  We’re figuring it out as we continue to get settled into our new routine and honestly there are just some nights that we’re going to go to bed with the apartment messier than we’d like and we just have to deal with it. 

With love, 

Meg

3 responses to “The balancing act

  1. Corinne says:

    When we both worked, we both pitched in. That is what marriage is all about, give and take. Although it does require 100% on both sides, which sounds to me, what the two of you are doing. And I gave up ironing a while ago, I call it my dryer now 😀 Always so excited to hear how you are both doing! Love and miss you, both! Love all of us!

  2. Rebekah says:

    We love you and are praying for you!!!
    Yeah. Our dryer has this setting on it and it like iron’s the clothes a little bit. The only time I iron is if it’s Christmas, Easter or my grandma is here. 🙂 She loves to iron. 🙂
    Love ya!!!!!!!!!!!!

  3. Hayden says:

    Praying for you guys!
    I love you both!

Leave a Reply

