Little Miracles

"Rejoice always, pray continually, give thanks in all circumstances; for this is God's will for you in Christ Jesus." 1 Thessalonians 5:16-18

Make the most of it…

on September 21, 2013

It’s going to seem like I’m stuck on taking time to do things after my last post being Mercy me’s song “Take the time”, and maybe I am.  I guess only time will tell.  Today, I would like to encourage you to do things while you have the opportunity to do them.  In my own life, I often make the assumption that I will have as much time to do things as I want.  For over a year, Ben and I lived in Weaverville while we were married.   I wish we had taken advantage of the beautiful mountains through the parkway and hiking more.  I’ve been told that there are places to go hiking here in Texas but I can’t imagine there are places as breathtaking as DuPont State Forrest in Hendersonville.  There are several families that we talked about having over for dinner and we never did actually put those plans into action while we just assumed we had more time to do that than we ended up having.  If I had realized that we would be leaving the state of North Carolina so soon, I would have gone to Raleigh to visit my brother at NC State more and I would have gone to see my grandparents more since they are all only an hour and a half away.  I would have spent more time with my family, gotten more pedicures with my mom, and had lunch with just my dad more often than I did. 

I don’t say all of this to pine away, to think about could have beens or should have beens.  I’m more thankful than words can express that God has brought Ben and I to Texas and I realize that when you leave a place, you’ll always wish you had spent more time with certain people.  I say all of this because I’m hoping to learn from not taking advantage of the time that God gave me in North Carolina.  When Ben and I leave Fort Worth one day, while I’ll wish I had more time with our friends, I hope that I’ll be able to look back and think: “I used my time well in Fort Worth.  I didn’t talk about doing important things that I never actually did.” 

I also say all of this to encourage you to use the time that you have wisely.  The Bible talks a lot about the fact that our time on earth is short, calling it a vapor.  If our whole lives are a vapor, how much shorter is our time in the places we call home?  I would like to present the idea that we need to use our time wisely because our lives are so short, but also because we can’t see the future.  We never really know how long God may call us to be in any given city, state, or even country.  So don’t put off spending time with the ones that you love.  Don’t put off finding the place where you can serve missionally.  Don’t put off enjoying the place where you live.  You never know when God may call you to make a new place your home.

2 responses to “Make the most of it…

  1. Rebekah says:

    We love you!!!

  2. Corinne says:

    He gives us these things to reflect on, to shape and mold us more into His likeness. He will strength and grow your faith during this time. It won’t always be easy but it will bring your heart joy when you look back upon your journey and how far He has brought. Be strong and courageous in Him. We love and miss you too!

Leave a Reply

