Little Miracles

"Rejoice always, pray continually, give thanks in all circumstances; for this is God's will for you in Christ Jesus." 1 Thessalonians 5:16-18

Perpetual Waiting

on October 3, 2013

 

I feel as though I am in a season of life where I am perpetually waiting.  Maybe this is how life works and maybe this is how everyone feels but I feel that after one promise is delivered upon, I find myself waiting on another.  Many of you know that I waited 3 years to be able to follow through on the call God placed on my life to go to Africa.  While I love Weaverville, I did not feel like that was where God wanted us to be long term and I waited for a little over a year until God moved us to Texas.  I am yet again waiting.

My best friend, Shae Lee, got engaged this weekend and I cannot even begin to tell you how happy I am for her!  God has brought a great and godly man into her life that He is allowing her to spend the rest of her life with and I thank Him for that.  In my excitement, I wish I could see her.  I wish I could hug her and I wish we could have a giggle fest over the fact that she is engaged.  I wish that we could talk about wedding plans in person instead of on the phone.  But God’s reminding me to be thankful I have the phone and skype to be able to talk with her on and He’s reminding me to be patient.

Many of you know the country of Uganda stole my heart this summer.  While there, I fell in love with the country and with the district of Palisa.  While I love everyone we worked with, Samuel, Mercy, and the men we ministered with in Palisa hold a special place in my heart.  I ache to be with them again.  I long to fellowship with them, eat dinner with them, minister with them, laugh with them, cry with them, and pray with them.  There are times that I feel as though my heart is bursting with the desire to be with them and with the pain that I cannot be with them right now.  Ben and I have recently realized that I will not be able to take enough days off to allow us to go back this summer.  Every time I think about it, which is daily, the realization hits me like a ton of bricks and brings tears with it.  I would like to say that my trust in God’s plan was strong enough that I didn’t hesitate and that the hurt did not cause me to lose sight of the fact that God’s timing is perfect, however, my first thoughts were why and confusion.  I told God that I don’t want to go to back for vacation; I want to go to come alongside Samuel and Mercy to minister to the people in the district of Palisa.  I want to go take His name to people that need Him!  I then proceeded to talk with Him about the fact that He had me wait three years the last time and before I could finish the thought, I felt the Holy Spirit stop it.  Then it was like He said “But wasn’t it worth the wait?”  That slap was all it took to remind me that while God’s timing is not what I would choose, it is perfect. 

Psalm 130:5-6 says “I wait for the LORD, my whole being waits, and in his word I put my hope.  I wait for the LORD more than watchmen wait for the morning, more than watchmen wait for the morning.”  I am trying to wait for the Lord in this way.  In those moments when I am North Carolina sick, in those moments when I am Uganda sick, in the moments when I miss my family, in the moments  that there is a promise to wait on, I want to wait with my whole being.  I want to trust in my God and be thankful that He has given me people in North Carolina to miss, people in Uganda to miss, and people in Fort Worth that I already know I will miss over Christmas and such breaks.  What a blessing to love people so much and to be loved so much that I can ache to be with people halfway across the United States and people across the world!

I hope that this can encourage you to wait on the Lord and hope in His perfect timing!

With love,

Meg

 

Leave a Reply

