Little Miracles

"Rejoice always, pray continually, give thanks in all circumstances; for this is God's will for you in Christ Jesus." 1 Thessalonians 5:16-18

The Proverbial Silver Lining

on October 17, 2013

So Tuesday morning was one of those mornings we’ve all had where technology fails us.  I woke up from a very odd dream to realize it was brighter in my room than it should be.  I proceeded to wake Ben up to see if he had set the alarm and to ask him to see what time it was.  He had set the alarm but it didn’t go off and it was 8:05.  I’m supposed to be at work at 8:00 and I normally get up around 6:30. Needless to say, I very much over slept, though I’d like to think I made pretty good time and was clocked in at work at 8:24.  Over sleeping can cause panic and very rushed mornings and there have been many times before that it has ruined at least my morning, if not my whole day.  But I would like to praise God that I overslept. I have been very tired for the past couple of weeks and haven’t really taken a lot of time to just rest.  In the downtime I have while Ben is working on homework, I clean.  During the week, on the nights that he has class or is doing homework I typically straighten up or do dishes. I blogged a while back about needing to be okay with going to bed with the apartment a wreck, but I haven’t done a good job of that and I’ve started to realize that I need to take some time to rest that doesn’t involve the time I’m asleep or trying to fall asleep in the bed. And while I don’t like the fact that I was late for work Tuesday morning, I did get an hour and a half of extra sleep. I really think my body needed that so I’m thankful that I was able to sleep until I naturally woke up. I’m also thankful that I naturally woke up around 8 and not later since I wasn’t even 30 minutes late.  It could have been a lot worse and I could have been at least an hour late if not more.  I’m not good at it and typically I let the little irritations get under my skin and ruin my day for at least a little bit, but think how much better our days and lives would be if we would look for the proverbial silver lining in those irritations. We wouldn’t get as mad, we would be more empathetic, we would be happier throughout the day, we would be able to fulfill the roles we have in life much better, and we would for sure be better witnesses for Christ!  I am challenging myself this morning to be able to view the frustrations we don’t plan on as little in the grand scheme of life.  I am challenging myself this morning to find what good I can and find a reason to praise and thank God for the irritating situations.  I am challenging myself to try and be an encouragement to those that have had frustrating moments, days, or weeks.  I would like to challenge you to the same and would love to hear your stories as I’ve shared mine!

With love,

Meg

Leave a Reply

