Little Miracles

"Rejoice always, pray continually, give thanks in all circumstances; for this is God's will for you in Christ Jesus." 1 Thessalonians 5:16-18

My favorite places

on November 5, 2013

I am no world class traveler and I honestly haven’t been very many places in my life, but nonetheless, I am going to share with you my favorite 5 places I’veImage been.

1.       Pallisa, Uganda

I’m sure the fact that this one made it on the list doesn’t shock anyone.  Uganda is an absolutely beautiful country with lots of pretty views of Lake Victoria, flowers, and vegetation.  These facts add to my love for this place, but it’s the people that live there that make this my absolute favorite place I’ve been.  They are happy, they are loving, they are inviting, and all in all, the people I met in Uganda are just amazing!

2.       Greensboro, North Carolina

Greensboro is my favorite city that I’ve been to in the United States so far.  It’s a big city and there are lots of things to do.  There are several different places to go shopping that I was able to get to in less than 10 minutes from my college apartment.  There were lots of food options if you wanted to go out to eat.  But on the same hand, it doesn’t feel like a real big city and traffic doesn’t make life difficult most of the time. It is well placed within the state, being only a little over an hour from Raleigh about 2 hours from reaching mountains.

3.       Charleston, South Carolina

Charleston is a wonderfully and beautifully historic city.  The city has done a great job of keeping the cobblestone roads and the pretty, old houses and churches downtown in fairly good shape.  I’m not usually a big beach person.  I like to get out on the beach a bit but if given the option; I would rather retreat back to the mountains and go to a lake.  I wasn’t so sure about Charleston when Ben suggested for our honeymoon.  But boy am I glad I didn’t protest!  We stayed on the Isle of Palms and had the best of both worlds.  We went out on the beach a bit and we got to go walk around downtown Charleston quite a bit, which I absolutely loved!

4.       Weaverville, North CarolinaImage

Okay, so I may be just a bit biased seeing as how this is where I was born and raised, but the mountains are beautiful, ‘nuff said.  I have been excited to see the mountains come into view as you drive to Weaverville on 40 countless times.  They’re beauty is a reminder of how great, powerful, and beautiful our God is!  Not to mention, that city holds quite a few fond memories for me.

5.       Watauga Lake, Tennessee

To be honest, I was disappointed when my family switched to going to Watauga Lake instead of Lake James.  We had gone to Lake James for a long time and I had decided for that reason it was the best.  But after giving Watauga a chance, it’s beautiful.  It sits surrounded by mountains and the water is always nice and cool.  I love being on the lake and have decided that it’s beauty and lack of being super busy at all times have made it my favorite. That brings it in at number five on my list! 

I’m hoping to add some places in Texas to my list after we have been here a little longer and have had chances to explore areas here more.

What about you?  What is your favorite place you’ve been to?

2 responses to “My favorite places

  1. Rebekah says:

    1- South Dakota. This probably isn’t a surprise just Like Uganda wasn’t. I just love how the hills roll along, almost like waves in the ocean.
    2- The Grand Canyon. I don’t remember it much but I remember feeling in awe.
    3- Mount Rushmore. I know it’s in SD but this is a little more specific. 🙂 it wasn’t just seeing it, I think I enjoyed hiking up to get a closes view more! 🙂
    4- Weaverville, NC. It’s where I’ve grown up most of my life. I love the mountains!
    5- The Blue Ridge Parkway. I love to drive up there and see the leaves or the view of the mountains!
    All of these places make me think of Psalm 121:1-2. God I’d our Maker and Creator! Every time I “raise my eyes” I am reminded of who he is!
    I love you both so much and you are constantly in my prayers!!!!!!

  2. Hayden says:

    1. Weaverville, NC. I LOVE the mountains, especially when all the leaves change colors in the Fall! 🙂
    2. Myrtle Beach, SC. The beach is one of my most favorite places in the world! I have been going there since I was born. I LOVE the beach and the ocean. Just seeing the ocean reminds me of how great and powerful our God is.
    3. South Dakota. The rolling hills are beautiful!
    4. Montreat. I love the water and at Montreat Park, there is an awesome creek to play in and it’s SO much fun! 🙂
    5. Lazy K Ranch. It’s so beautiful there and it’s just simply relaxing.( even when you are mucking stalls, feeding horses or playing in the creek! 🙂 )

    I love you both!!

Leave a Reply

