Little Miracles

"Rejoice always, pray continually, give thanks in all circumstances; for this is God's will for you in Christ Jesus." 1 Thessalonians 5:16-18

Unreached People Groups

on January 17, 2014

By now, most of you know that I am truly in love with the country of Uganda.  God called me  4 years ago now to go to Africa and He gave me the opportunity to follow that call this past May.  I figured when I went I would either feel as though I had completed that call on my life or I would fall in love and God would continue to press the continent upon my heart.  Well, the latter happened for me and I thank God that He has given me a passion for Africa!  I thought when I got home from Uganda that the beautiful country I fell in love with was where we belonged.  I still feel that way, but I want to be open to wherever God may call Ben and me.  In light of this, I researched unreached people groups in Africa.  I personally found the Joshua Project website extremely helpful in the way it presents the information.  I would encourage you to do some research on your own so here is the link for the Joshua Project if you don’t know where to start:  http://joshuaproject.net/index.php.  To keep myself involved in the research of these unreached people groups, I am going to start posting about different groups.Image

Today, I’m going to start with defining what makes a people group considered “unreached”.  According to the IMB, “A people group is unreached when the number of Evangelical Christians is less than 2% of its population. It is further called unengaged when there is no church planting methodology consistent with Evangelical faith and practice under way.”  I encourage you to go to the Joshua project or to the IMB website and search unreached people groups.  Maybe it shouldn’t have, but the numbers shocked me.  That’s one of the reasons I want to start sharing this information with you. 

Why should we care? First off, the thought of anyone, even those we’ve never met, spending eternity apart from God should break our hearts.  Secondly, the Bible tells us that Christ will not return until all nations have heard the gospel.  In talking to His disciples about His return, Jesus stated “And this gospel of the kingdom will be preached in the whole world as a testimony to all nations, and then the end will come.”  There are still whole people groups that have not heard the name of Jesus and do not know of His saving gospel.  Many of these people do not have access to any religion other than the ones they were born into and have grown up in and have no way to know about our Lord and Savior unless He divinely reveals Himself or uses His people to take His word to them.

I hope this inspires you to research what you can do to help missionaries reach unreached people groups and I also hope it spurs everyone to check our lives to see if we’re really living missionally where we live.  You don’t have to go to the parts of the world where the unreached people groups live to reach lost people for our Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ.

With love,

Meg

One response to “Unreached People Groups

  1. Rebekah says:

    I LOVE learning about missionaries!!! Especially since I want to be one!!! Thanks for sharing this with us!!!!

Leave a Reply

