Little Miracles

"Rejoice always, pray continually, give thanks in all circumstances; for this is God's will for you in Christ Jesus." 1 Thessalonians 5:16-18

Elohim

on January 22, 2014

Ben and I have started going through a devotional we both own together this year called “Praying the Names of God.”  The premise behind the devotional is to spend each week on a different name of God that is given to us in the Bible.  It uses Scripture and the original languages in order to dive into the meanings and characteristics behind each different name God gives us for Himself in His word.  We started it Monday and the first name that we are studying is the one given in Genesis 1; Elohim.  This name deals with the fact that God is the Creator God and that He created our universe, our world, even us.  With this in mind, I’ve been praying to God the past couple of days about His creation.  When you think about it, creation is absolutely incredible!  In the state of North Carolina alone, there are beaches, and mountains.  If you look at the entire country, you have places like Florida where 50’s is cold and places where in the same season the temperature gets below zero.  Uganda is home to lush vegetation and beautiful lakes while in other places on the continent, there are places engulfed by the Sahara Desert.  How many breathtakingly beautiful sights there are on this planet, and what a diverse planet we live on!  From the top of Angel Falls in Venezuela to the bottom of the Grand Canyon, there are so many amazing and wonderful sights!  Yesterday’s devotion talked about remembering God’s creation for what it is.  It talked about the fact that we often get caught up in the annoying things that creation brings for us on a day to day basis and that we need to focus on how great creation is instead what’s wrong with it!

Image

Image

My challenge for myself, and I invite you to join me, is to focus on the amazing and positive points of God’s creation.  When it’s raining when I don’t have an umbrella (which happens a lot since I forget I need an umbrella since it doesn’t rain much) I’m going to soak up the rain and praise God for His creativity in the way He provides the world with water.  When the heat is overbearing down here in Fort Worth, I’m going to focus on the fact that summer is a season and that God graciously created four of them.  I’m going to focus on the sun, its power, and the good it brings us. While spending time thinking about creation and its beauty, I can’t help but wonder how much more amazing eternity will be than our own beautiful earth.  I am personally blown away by the power and beauty in the pictures I’ve seen of Victoria Falls, the Northern Lights present a mind bomb for me, and when I look at architecture as beautiful as the Pantheon, I truly desire to see it in person and up close.  But what is creation going to look like in Heaven; it’s going to be beyond indescribable!  And the amazing thing, it won’t even be able to slightly compete with the utter, raw beauty of the presence of the Creator!Image

What have you complained about in regard to nature before that you can turn into praise?

With love,

Meg

4 responses to “Elohim

  1. Rebekah says:

    That is sooo true!!! God’s creatio nis beautiful, that for sure!!!

  2. Corinne Ptak says:

    We have been talking about Creation in Sunday School too. It is always amazes me when I stop to think about all of the little details God did so that Creation can survive. In school, the boys learned about the fish that God made with lights so that they can see in the deepest part of the ocean and there is so many more. Every day when I look into my children’s eyes I am amazed at how God made each of them and how different He made their personalities. What an amazing God we serve. Love you and pray for you daily.

  3. Rebekah says:

    I was sitting here doing Starting Points and was describing who God is and I remembered this. I just truly love this name!!

Leave a Reply

