Little Miracles

"Rejoice always, pray continually, give thanks in all circumstances; for this is God's will for you in Christ Jesus." 1 Thessalonians 5:16-18

My Favorite Things

on February 7, 2014

So I don’t know how many of you have seen “The Sound of Music” but if you haven’t seen it, don’t even finish reading this post. Go now, rent it, borrow it, buy it, whatever you need to do and watch it; watch it right now! This movie has been one of my favorites since I was a kid. I remember making my mom rent it for me to watch many times and it was so long that it was on two VHS tapes! A few years ago, ABC Family showed it during the SuperBowl and let me just tell you, that’s definitely what my college roommate and I had on in our apartment. I’m pretty convinced that no movie collection is complete without it. Now, onto the point I really want to make. Within the movie, there is a song titled “My Favorite Things” that Maria sings with the children when they come into her room after being scared by a Thunderstorm. I have included a video for your listening enjoyment. Here are some of the lyrics:

Raindrops on roses and whiskers on kittens

Bright copper kettles and warm woolen mittens

Brown paper packages tied up with strings

These are a few of my favorite things

Cream colored ponies and crisp apple streudels

Doorbells and sleigh bells and schnitzel with noodles

Wild geese that fly with the moon on their wings

These are a few of my favorite things

Girls in white dresses with blue satin sashes

Snowflakes that stay on my nose and eyelashes

Silver white winters that melt into springs

These are a few of my favorite things

I have always loved this song for its simplicity. The things that Maria refers to as being her favorite things are for the most part, simple, common, yet beautiful things. It isn’t money or things that you need a lot of money to buy (other than the ponies but I think she just likes looking at them), they are the everyday joys in life. She likes things that God has blessed us with in nature and a few on the list are foods. Whenever I hear this song, it makes me happy but it also challenges me and reminds me to find joy in the simple things in life. Reading through Ecclesiastes, Solomon says several times that man should “take pleasure in all his toil—this is God’s gift to man.” It encourages me to enjoy the feel of the books I work with in my hands, to love how a warm bowl of soup hits the right spot on a cold winter day. To look forward to fall leaves, and spring flowers. I hope you enjoy this song and that it can encourage you as well!
What are the small things in your life that bring you joy?

With love,

Meg

2 responses to “My Favorite Things

  1. Kristi Bailey says:

    Love, Love, Love this movie. We have watched this movie so many times and that is one of our most FAVORITE songs to sing! So many little things than I am thankful for. Happy laughs, little pitter patters running through the house, someone calling me “Mommy” for the 50th time that day, a husband who loves me no matter what, birds chirping at the first sign of spring, leaves falling off of the trees and trying to catch them, jamming out to my favorite worship song, etc. The list just goes on and on and this is such a great reminder of how very much we have to be thankful for. Love and miss you!

  2. Hayden says:

    Love that song!! ❤

Leave a Reply

